23
Jan
09

Athletic Club Los Angeles

I consider myself an aficionado when it comes to professional sports. ESPN is my homepage and 90 percent of the time when the TV is on its some sort of sports. Over the past couple of days I have been playing a lot of Fifa (soccer for you non European sports fans) for the PS3. The game is awesome and highly responsible for increasing my knowledge of the football world. The team I am currently playing with is FC Barcelona. I was curious what the FC in the name stood for. I went online to FCBARCELONA.COM and found out that it stands for football club.   

FC Barcelona Shield

FC Barcelona Shield

While I was browsing the website I found out that Barcelona is not only a football club but basketball, handball, field hockey, baseball, cycling, rugby, wheelchair basketball, volleyball, ice hockey, and a figure skating club. Under one name and one company there are a ton of sports. Imagine the pride that the town of Barcelona has for their ten teams under one name. It’s like being in a college or high school all over again. 

What if we had this set up over here in the states? Think of the Dodgers, Lakers, Galaxy, Kings, and well since we don’t have a football team USC (sorry UCLA but you guys just suck) play together under one name. It could be AC (athletic club) LA. Doesn’t that just flow off of the tongue. ACLA. Think of the powerhouse Boston would be having the Celtics, BoSox, Patriots, Bruins, and Revolution. They could be called Boston United, but you get my point. 

This would unite baseball, basketball, soccer, hockey, and football fans. It would more than likely increase ratings across the board because the teams shield would be on the line and more importantly it would be a city thing. Think about your college experience and if you did not go to college think high school. No matter what sporting event it was you were full of school pride. Every team wearing the same colors, name, and school logo. Every sporting result was a direct reflection of you and your pride. In college I watched everything from Rugby to women’s Lacrosse. It wasn’t my passion for the sport that brought me there it was for the Pride of my school.

Think outside the box……. Long live ACLA… 

Catch ya on the flip side…….

Thomas

0 Responses to “Athletic Club Los Angeles”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Kaliphornya Twitter

My Blogs

January 2009
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

